Acquiring PMI Credentials

PMI offers a range of global credentials that represent a professional level of project management experience, education, ethics, and commitment to ongoing professional development. They include:

  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM®)

  • Project Management Professional (PMP®)

  • Program Management Professional (PgMP®)

  • Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP®)

  • Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP®)

By attaining a PMI  credential, your name will be included in the largest and most prestigious group of certified professionals in the project management community.

NOTE: The Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) credential is an ideal choice for early career persons and project controllers. Courses designed for CAPMs are ideal study paths for all project personnel, including those headed toward the Project Management Profession (PMP) credential.

To be eligible for the PMI credentials, you must first meet specific education and experience requirements and agree to adhere to a code of professional conduct. The final step is is passing a multiple-choice examination designed to objectively assess and measure your applicable knowledge. This computer-based exam is administered globally. In addition, those who have been granted the PMI credentials must demonstrate an ongoing professional commitment to the field of project management by satisfying PMI's Continuing Certification Requirements Program.

You'll find specific information about the certification process in the links below. Also, you may obtain further information by attending chapter events, meeting with members who are ready to help and writing our Vice President of Professional Development at [email protected].

PMI Credentials Overview Page



Email our Vice President of Professional Development:  [email protected]